So I hooked my desktop up to my 57'' DLP HDTV

texan1337

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2007
It's running in 1080p and is pretty stunning.However, the screen dimensions stretch beyond the size of my monitor, so I can't see the start menu or the left and right edges...????. I have an 8800 GTS graphics card, and I'm running Vista 32 bit, and I'm typing on it right now from my couch :)

texan1337

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2007
nah, i'm a grad student so it's simple to get large students loans. took out one for 20k to deck my place out. need to get laid, but that aint gonna happen if the screensize is off ... what should I do, do I need another type of video card?

ineedausername

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2007
OMG, I can't believe people are that rude. The guy needs help with his overscaning issues which he can use the invidia control panel to create a resolution to fit his TV. Its not that expensive anymore to own a 1080P projection TV. Why is he a prick? Rude people.

What resolution are you running at, and what is your screen capable of, it may be that the screen is only 1080p (1920x1080), and not 1920x1200 which is a std PC resolution, you may have to define a custom res if it is not available.

Having just done a bit more digging it seems that 1080p is 1920x0180 (i've corrected it above) and wouldn't fit with your issue of things being off to the sides.

Perhaps then the projection part of the dlp is over-projecting onto the screen? thats my thoughts on the matter.

eladtan

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2007
I had the same problem with my LCD TV and I easly fixed it by changing the aspect ratio on my tv from 16:9 to pc.
How this helps for you.

texan1337

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2007
Yes, it is running at 1900x1080. You're probably right about the overprojection. Interestingly it projected fine under standard resolution before I switched to Hi Def. Thankfully I have keyboard shortcuts to all of the missing items on the desktop -- it makes my vista sidebar look like crap though :(