Sign in with
Your question

Best 24" for gaming

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 1, 2007 8:33:02 PM

Can you guys give me some advice?
I've checked some forums, I've read many reviews and now I'm more and more confused.
BenQ or Dell or Samsung.... :ouch: 
I have 2 EVGA's GeForce 8800 GTX KO ACS3 768MB so I'm covered on this end, they should be able to pull
1900x1200 in any game.
It's gonna be used mainly for gaming. I plan to spend up to 700 quids for the LCD.

More about : gaming

September 1, 2007 8:34:22 PM

wow, I envy you MAJORLY, but I'm not good with monitors (i'm on 1024x768 max lol)
September 1, 2007 11:03:03 PM

I'm looking at those 3 at the moment

Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP-HC LCD
Samsung 245T
BenQ FP241WZ

Can anyone give his opinion or suggest something better?
Related resources
September 1, 2007 11:36:55 PM

Hmmm..Choice is up to you really. If you want either a PVA/MVA panel or a IPS...

The Dell's use a S-PVA panel....The Samsung uses a S-PVA as well....While the BenQ uses a MVA...

MVA/PVA panels have the highest contrast ratio and best blacks..But details in the black are lost. This is called "Crushed Blacks" which is the term for it. Also PVA/MVA panels have the highest input lag and response time of TFT technology. If you take gaming very seriously this might mess with you. But it all depends upon the person...Some people can see ghosting and some people can not on the same monitor...Every person is different. I was and somewhat still am a dedicated Counter Strike player who has played many leagues..I also play a LOT of different kind of games...For me if I had to go TFT I'd nab a IPS panel. They have the best color accuracy as well as maintaining the details in darker areas. The downside is their brightness contrast is not as high as PVA/MVA...but the color accuracy, details, input/response time makes up for that. So the choice is up to you...