Sign in with
Your question

First time build hoping to get all the right parts

Last response: in Systems
August 21, 2007 9:56:29 PM

Ok, this is my first time building a PC and I hope I have all the parts I need.

The PC will be used for streaming video to my Xbox360, gaming (WoW, MOH:Airbourne), graphics design (Photoshop and Illustrator) and some development (MS Visual Studio) so I need something versatile, yet fast.

I had a hard time deciding between the Q6600 and the E6850, but finally settled on the Q6600. Hopefully I chose the right motherboard since I am thinking of possibly going SLI in the future too.

I also tried figuring out how to choose memory and extra fans that I might need. I may be going overboard, but I don't know because I have never done this before.

• Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan - Retail
  • EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
  • EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
  • Western Digital Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10,000 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM
  • 2 x Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
  • SAMSUNG 18X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write, LightScribe Technology Black SATA Model SH-S183L - OEM
  • Creative 70SB046A00000 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional Series - Retail
  • Tagan TG1100-U96 ATX12V / EPS12V 1100 Watts Power Supply - Retail
  • G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL4D-2GBHK - Retail
  • Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM
  • ZALMAN 9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler - Retail
  • ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED 92mm 2 Ball Cooling Fan with Heatsink - Retail
  • ZALMAN VF700-CU 2 Ball VGA COOLER - Retail