VB.Net Beginner Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

sodacycle

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2011
I'm not that good with VB.Net although I've been working on this program of mine for quite some time and I've learned a great deal since I started. I'm using VS 2010 Professional and .net 4, I've got my program working but I'm trying to add some things that would better inform the user what's going on.

Basically I have the button_click baking up some files from a folder and I'm trying to get the output to show up in a richtext box.

This is what I have so far.

'Obtains the path to the desktop
Desktop = My.Computer.FileSystem.SpecialDirectories.Desktop
'Obtains the username for access to the appdata folder
User = My.Computer.FileSystem.GetParentPath(Desktop)
'Obtains the Systemdrive for backup storage
Drive = My.Computer.FileSystem.GetParentPath( _
My.Computer.FileSystem.GetParentPath(User))

TextBox2.Text = My.Computer.FileSystem.ReadAllText(Drive & "\Test\Test.config")
Dim svr As String
Dim filenames() As String = Directory.GetFiles(Drive & "Test\BackedFiles\Server\")
Dim i As Integer
svr = TextBox2.Text
i = 0
For i = 0 To filenames.Length - 1
output.Text = Path.GetFileName(filenames(i))
output.Refresh()
Next (i)
My.Computer.FileSystem.CopyFile(svr & "\banned-ips.txt", Drive & "BackedFiles\Server\banned-ips.txt", overwrite:=True)
My.Computer.FileSystem.CopyFile(svr & "\banned-players.txt", Drive & "BackedFiles\Server\banned-players.txt", overwrite:=True)
My.Computer.FileSystem.CopyFile(svr & "\ops.txt", Drive & "BackedFiles\Server\ops.txt", overwrite:=True)
My.Computer.FileSystem.CopyFile(svr & "\server.log", Drive & "BackedFiles\Server\server.log", overwrite:=True)
My.Computer.FileSystem.CopyFile(svr & "\server.properties", Drive & "BackedFiles\Server\server.properties", overwrite:=True)
My.Computer.FileSystem.CopyFile(svr & "\white-list.txt", Drive & "BackedFiles\Server\white-list.txt", overwrite:=True)