Sign in with
Your question

Problems overclocking E6750

Last response: in Overclocking
October 31, 2007 10:47:34 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this forum, but thought I would join as Tom's Hardware is such a great site.

I have recently purchased a new system to replace my age-old Skt 754 AMD64 sytem. You should be able to see my specs in my signature. So far this machine is running fine, no problems at all. Runs DOOM3 and HL2 on maxed out settings at 1280x1024 at roughly 80-150 fps.

The problem I am having is that I am unable to overclock this machine at all. The stock speed of 2.66ghz on this CPU is a crime! Ideally I want this machine to run at a 400mhz FSB which will give me 3.2Ghz clock speed. In addition, this means my PC2-6400 RAM will run at optimal speed too.

I have done overclocking a lot in the past and I'm a computer engineer by profession, so you can get as technical as you like. My only downfall is that I haven't dealt much at all with voltages. I am not that certain what voltage settings are correct, and most importantly, safe.

I cannot POST with only a 20mhz FSB increment at stock voltage. I have tried 350mhz, 360mhz etc etc. All of these do not post at stock voltage, which is worrying, as I'm sure the voltage is enough?

The current standard VCORE is at 1.35000. Should I turn it up? What are the recommended settings for a stable-running 3.2ghz overclock?

Any help is appreciated :D 

(nice to meet everyone here too :hello:  )
October 31, 2007 10:57:25 AM

I have mine running at 3.2gz without problem, have same speed ram and a gigabyte p35-ds3r mobo, have increased v-core to 1.43 without any real issues and seems to e running fine, before i installed water cooling was running at a max of 45-50c under torture testing, with water cooling thats now more around 22-23c and it runs like a dream.
Have comfortably reached 3.5gz which i beleive was around 430ish fsb but dropped back to 3.2 as have no real need for the extra performance at present.