Sign in with
Your question

Connecting PC to LCD TV

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 4, 2007 7:04:22 PM

Hi Guys,

Im having a bit of trouble conencting my pc to my LCD tv
Im pretty new to this so bare with me

My tv has a hdmi connection for which i've got a hdmi - hdmi cable, and the graphics card on my pc has a dvi output, and i've got a dvi - hdmi adapter for that. I've read somewhere to be careful with what resolution you send down in case u break the tv, and was just unsure on how to setup the connection with resolutions, frequency etc.. and if there are any settings with the pc that i might need to change, like in control panel etc in order for it to show up on the tv and not my monitor.

Samsung LER74
Nvidia GE Force 7300 LE

Thanks

More about : connecting lcd

a b U Graphics card
September 4, 2007 7:44:08 PM

Your graphics card and TV should work together at the TV's native resolution, but that's not always the case. Set it at any resolution below the TV's native resolution and you won't hurt a thing, then connect the TV and try bringing it up to the native resolution.
September 14, 2007 1:12:53 PM

no luck... i cant seem to access the pc,hdmi, composite or s-video options on my tv menu, there all greyed out, supposedly because it cant find any source for it.
Not sure what else to do....
I've tried using a striaght vga connection but that didnt work either, should the tv autmatically pick up the source?
I checked it at the native resolution (1360x768)60hz but nothing was picked up, do u know if there is some option to 'add or detect a new display' sort of thing, or should'nt that be nesscary.

Related resources
September 14, 2007 2:03:05 PM