Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

How to "Clean" and apply "Thermal Compound" on a 8800 GTS 640MB GPU?

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Thermal Compound
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics Cards
September 4, 2007 9:27:52 PM

First of all, I am new to this forum. However, I've been on all sorts of forums online under the username "moh.vze.com" or "vietpho", so If you google me, you'll see that I'm not a forum noob :love: .

I understand that a guy like me with "0" post counts will probably not get much respect or even a reply on a forum post such as this one. But, being new and everything, I'll take my chances and see if I get much love :bounce:  and help from this wonderful community.
Another thing you should know about me is, I am new to the whole "building a computer" thing. I've recently bought 2,400$ worth of computer parts and I've been doing a lot of reading and research before I actually put together everything.
Anyways, that's enough introduction about me, let's get to the topic!

HR-03 Plus + GTS 8800 640MB - The "Cleaning" and "Thermal Compound" process...

I have a question regards the "cleaning" process within this guide:
http://www.thermalright.com/a_page/main_support_installation_hr03-plus.htm#type1

Step 4 of this guide states the following:

Quote:
Clean off the paste and any residue for best contact and adhesiveness.

Tell me if this is what I'm suppose to do:
1) Wipe off as much of the stock Thermal Compound of the core and RAMsinks as possible (Scraping with a Credit Card).

http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruct/ac/ins_arcticlean.pdf
2) Apply a drop of " ArctiClean 1 Thermal Material Remover" to the 8 RAM chips and the big core thing? Wait 30-60 seconds for it to dissolve into it and then wipe those things clean?

3) Apply "ArctiClean 2 Thermal Surface Purifier" to the 8 RAM chips and core to dissolve the remainings.

Ok, finally, step 4 is where I am confused also. It states the following for applying "Thermal Compound":

Quote: