Problem with new RAM Sticks

bisonman

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2007
I'm glad I found this board -- seems to be pretty active and I've found lots of interesting discussion about memory problems others have had. As you can probably guess, though, my problem is specific to my system and therefore I needed to start a new topic.

I have been using the following self-built system for a couple of years:

SOYO SY-P4VTP Mobo
Intel P4 3GHz
1GB DDR-400 Dual-Channel RAM (2 512 sticks)
Windows XP SP2

Today I decided to buy more memory for my system, and picked up a Buffalo brand 1GB DDR-400. I brought it home, and tried to add it to the other two sticks. No dice. BSOD, memory errors, etc.

I rebooted my system with the original two 512 sticks, and everything worked fine. I then booted with only the new 1GB stick, and had all kinds of memory problems as before.

I brought the new stick back to the store, and had it exchanged for a new one. I decided to pick up another 1GB stick with the idea that my new and old sticks may conflict, and 2GB was my goal in the first place.

I took out the old sticks, put in the new ones, booted up, and had the same BSOD/bad boot issues I had before. I put in the old sticks, and the problems went away.

Here are some facts:

1) The motherboard supports up to 1GB memory in each of the three slots.
2) I bought the sticks at Microcenter, and they're usually pretty reliable (at the very least not shady).
3) I have now been using the machine with the original 512 sticks for an hour with no sign of trouble.

Is it possible to have purchased two (or three!) bad sticks in one day from the same place?

Does the fact that the old RAM is dual channel and the new RAM isn't cause problems I don't know about?

Is there a way to check to make sure my settings are configured to the new RAM?

How can I test the RAM if I get the BSOD every time I boot with the new RAM?

I eagerly await any and all guidance.