Sign in with
Your question

IDE to USB converter help

Last response: in Storage
December 20, 2007 4:53:36 AM

Hello all, it's my first time on the forums, and I was hoping you all could help me. I need some files off an old IDE hd, and I was looking at an IDE to USB 2.0 converter/adapter. Do you know if these support hd that are partitioned into 2 drives?

More about : ide usb converter

December 20, 2007 6:44:25 AM

I use the Apricorn Uninversal HD adaptor...connects SATA/PATA and even notebook drive to any USB port.
Comes with all cables,PSU and backup/clone software.
Other brands are basicaly the same and prices start off @ $19 USD.
December 20, 2007 7:01:55 AM

I'm just worried because my old drive was partitioned into 2, and if the adapter will recognize the second partition
Related resources
December 20, 2007 7:09:29 AM

Get an external casing if you can't find another PC to put the disk into.
December 20, 2007 8:42:24 AM

It will be ok, no problem with your partitions. The adapter works as if you had the disc connected via ide....
a b G Storage
December 20, 2007 9:22:25 AM

Why not simply plug the drive directly into your computer? That's what I do.
December 20, 2007 5:13:36 PM

jsc said:
Why not simply plug the drive directly into your computer? That's what I do.

My master hd is sata and a lot of people said they had problems connecting an ide drive while sata was their main/primary. If you can give me instructions on how to connect my ide hd while i have my sata as my primary I would be grateful
a b G Storage
December 20, 2007 9:29:56 PM

I haven't had any trouble doing that with my 680i PC.

Instructions: The IDE HD should have instructions on it describing how to jumper it as a single drive. Jumper it as a single drive. Turn off PC. Open PC. Plug IDE cable into IDE socket on motherboard. Plug other end on IDE cable and PSU power connector into IDE HD.