Setting up a RAID 1 on Vista

bagpiperdude90

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2007
Ok, this is my first build ever, and I used some old hard drives I had in order to get by. However, I have two Seagate 250GB drives on order from newegg, and I want to make a mirror.

I'm fine with doing a complete reinstall of Vista - I've tried so many programs and uninstalled and everything so many times, I'd just prefer a fresh install. I have a Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H moboard, which supports RAID 1.

After getting everything setup, I'll probably use my current IDE 160GB drive for misc storage - maybe for my DVDs I rip - stuff that I don't care about losing. The system is mainly for web design for my clients, so I cannot afford to lose my work, hence the RAID.

A few questions:

1) Should I start off with a mirror, and install Vista onto the mirror? Or can I (should I?) install onto the 250GB drive, add in the second, and then enable the RAID? Would that work?

2) Instead of RAID, should I save the money on the second drive and just use my 160GB (IDE) drive to save periodic (compressed) images of the 250GB drive?

Thanks!

jj14

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2006
For #1, I believe it will be easier (and safer) to start if with a mirror and then, install Vista onto that. Some boards will support the other option, but installig vista onto the mirror would be an easier bet.