FlynnSerlant

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2007
I'm new to this, as this is my first system build.

I built myself (with help, mind you) this computer and found that I was really enjoying tweaking it. For some odd reason though, I didn't try looking up guides for OCing until after I started OCing (I know, smart, right?). Thankfully, though, nothing damaging happened during that period, as I was only trying small FSB increases.

After reading up on the topic, I tried raising the FSB up higher values. I use CoreTemp, Prime95, and Everest. I had my memory speed locked at 800 MHz (I discovered that trying to have a linked ratio caused my computer to not post at FSB speeds above 300 MHz) and the voltage settings on "auto" (big mistake, as I found out a short time ago). Eventually, through many Prime95 tests I found it ran stably at 375 MHz, but crashed at anything higher. However, it also failed to restart at times, forcing me to use the jumper switch on my MB to reset the BIOS, and I had to manually reset the OC settings. This seemed odd to me, so I tried checking the BIOS every time I restarted the computer; I discovered that, with the voltage settings on "auto" caused the VCore to continuously increase with each successive restart, topping out at 1.9 before failing to boot.

That's when I set everything to manual, and stepped up the Voltage by the smallest increments until I found it running stable (Prime95 test 8 hours) at 3.375 GHz at 1.425 v. I never touched any settings with the memory, so I believe they're still at the default settings (I hope; I'm honestly not sure how to check).

Onto my Temp Question: