Sign in with
Your question

Build for Massively Parallel Algorithm Research

Last response: in Systems
August 25, 2007 4:02:54 AM

Premise

So I'm a researcher who works with emergent modeling, particularly genetic algorithms and neural networks. My lab needs a powerful computer for our research and I've convinced my boss that building a custom box from components (as I've done for my personal computers) would be the best use of money (as opposed to more Dell garbage).

The modeling is extremely parallel and is coded to be infinitely scalable to n number of cores. Every core I add to the run increases the speed by about 1x (use of full quad core ~= 3.5x faster than use of single core on that processor). Also, the code is relatively efficient so even ~2 GB allocated to the program at runtime would be more than enough.

I've gotten around $3000 allocated to the build, though I may be able to push a bit higher.

Bad Ideas

- A server motherboard with 4x quad core Xeons. (of course they don't make quad LGA 771 as far as I know).

- Wait and hope that the rumors I've heard about an 8 core "yorkfield" chip are true. (we need it built within 2-3 weeks).

Conclusions Thus Far

- A server motherboard with 2x quad core Xeons (LGA 771).
August 25, 2007 5:23:38 AM

Get a Server Board with Dual LGA771 thats will be the closest bet u get to Cpu multiplication!

The Yorkfield wont be out for ages! probably Q3 of 2008 As its the Octo-core not quad.

As for other specs Ima give it to the pros on the forums, im just a noob XD
August 25, 2007 6:29:22 AM

Definitely get a good/decent server board LGA771 (aren't all of them dual socket?) FBDIMMs are expensive, but if you don't need too much then it's not really a problem.

Haven't checked the AMD side of things with servers, so they might* be better price/performance wise.