PC not turning on..

antohnee

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2007
so i bought all the basic components for a new pc, put them together, and pressed the front power button.
and nothing happens.
i checked the power supply by hooking it up to another computer and it worked fine so i thought the PSU couldnt be the problem. then i looked at the manual for the mobo and it showed all these different jumpers. my comp case doesnt have all the jumpers as shown in the manual, so im guessing that might be the problem. my computer case (i think its called atx chassis or something) has:
Power LED
Speaker
Reset SW
DC. SW
H.D.D. LED

and the (6100m-m) mobo requires:
HD_LED
RST SW
FP PWR/SLP
PWR_SW

im wondering if my problem is not having the right jumpers and maybe i should buy a new case?

also whats the deal with the clr_cmos(clear_cmos or something)?
what does it do and what settings should it be on? theres 3 pins and the jumper thing is on 2 and 3

also, yes i am a first-time comp builder and would greatly appreciate help

Your MB manual has a diagram of the Front Panel Jumpers. Match the Front Panel case leads to the Front Panel Jumpers on the diagram in the manual and plug them in. CMOS jumper is a default/reset for the system BIOS.

Here is some great music to listen to while assembling everything.

http://mycomponfire.ytmnd.com/

antohnee

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2007
i no about the diagram, but the diagram has different jumper names than the cables i have. so i dont no which jumper to set where

Well, Power = power button. Reset = reset button. HD LED = HD LED. Speaker = speaker header. Look at the MB diagram and match the front panel case leads to the MB jumpers. The whole thing is generally universal.

The computer will switch on with the On button on the front ofm the case with just the PWR case lead plugged into the PWR header on the MB. Don't worry about pos/neg. Just connect the power on lead to the power on header on the mb and turn the system on with the on button.

antohnee