First build ever. Mid to high end business & personal PC

StevieD

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2004
Sorry for the long post (in advance).

Background:

A) I have never built a computer before.

B) I can read instructions and have installed RAM, graphics & PCI cards, and can find my butt with both hands behind my back.

Bottom line I am a dangerous fool.

But I am tired of buying what others want me to buy, and hate the idea of paying of $515 for 4 sticks of RAM to upgrade the basic HP-Dell 'puter.

So I cruise the boards and am considering options. One option was having somebody build me a shell of a computer and then let me finish it off. But that option is becoming less attractive as I cruise through the options.

I have basically narrowed my choice down to building my own.

Like I said, I am a dangerous fool. But I do understand that if you are standing barefooted in a puddle of water and insert a screwin driver into an electrical socket you are going to get all hot and tingling inside. So maybe I am not that big of a fool.

What I am replacing is my primary office computer which is still working. So I am on no exact time table to do the build. This week, next week, next month, just as long as I have the computer being built by the end of the year and preferably online by January 1 for business operation reasons. This is a business computer (obviously), but it is also my personal computer (one of the perks of working for the family business). The old computer, and parts thereof, will not be used for this build.

The Build (with questions and comments as I go), Newegg pricing and links provided for convenience: