rufio1066

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2007
Hey guys, I am stuck with a problem. My father has a crappy old Compaq PC. This thing has never been reformatted or anything so hes been adding data to the HDD from day 1 when he purchased it. This PC needs a reinstall of windows BADLY. The thing is my father has tons of files and personal data on the PC that he wants backed up. The other thing that totally sucks is he is the worst when it comes to orginization. So whenever he saved a file or whatever he just saved it in the first place that popped up, so in essence hes got files that he probablly needs some day and he hasn't got the foggiest of ideas where they are located.

Sooo, can anybody help me by offering up some sort of suggestion on how to backup the thousands of random files all over his HDD so I can reinstall windows? I'm very new to backing up. So I don't know if there is a simple fix or if this is going to be a pain in the butt to backup like I think it's going to be. My first thought is getting an external HDD and using that, but again im new to backing up and I don't exactly know how they work and what they will backup. Any help is definetly appreciated.

Cheers!

My guess is that it will be a pain.... I'd start by doing a search in Windows Explorer, choosing "All files and folders", "When was it modified", then providing the date when he bought the PC and today's date, There will be thousands of garbage files but also all the files he has ever modified or created. At worst, drag all you find to an external HDD.

rufio1066

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2007
Yea, my first instinct told me this was going to suck. I could kill my father for his orginizational skills. With an external drive, what is it just hooked up through USB and then XP would recognize it as another drive and basically just drag "C:" drive over into it? Is that how those external drives basically work?

rockyjohn

Distinguished