mad-dog

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2006
Well, i started with AMD's lowly 4200+, moved up to the 5200+ when prices dropped and have just dropped another $300 on the 6400+ 3.2GHz wunberbar processor and Corsair XMS memory combo.

Time to rip out Four 512MB sticks of perfectly good Patriot RAM and the trusty 5200+ dual-core bad-boy,
This gives a me a good excuse to water-cool the CPU now.!

I've never been a Intel fan and never will............AMD is Back n Black

Despite your wasting of money in too frequent upgrades, trust me, AMD is still very far in the red, hence their use of senior stock to screw over the other stockholders.

Am I an "Intel Fanboy"? Well, judging by the AMD Opteron in my home system, I would say I'm probably rather objective. I just upgraded to three gigs of RAM, so I will probably be in this system until at least some time in 2008.

LOL, I don't! I wouldn't hesitate to buy AMD if it made sense. I'm not an overclocker, because I'm not good at it. I don't have the patience to make minor adjustments. I make broad adjustments and blow my motherboard or processor.

That's why it makes sense for me to go with either company. I do care a little about power consumption, but both companies offer good products that aren't over the top. AMD simply isn't for overclockers right now, they have NO overhead on their products.

mad-dog

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2006
LOL, I don't! I wouldn't hesitate to buy AMD if it made sense. I'm not an overclocker, because I'm not good at it. I don't have the patience to make minor adjustments. I make broad adjustments and blow my motherboard or processor.
That's why it makes sense for me to go with either company. I do care a little about power consumption, but both companies offer good products that aren't over the top. AMD simply isn't for overclockers right now, they have NO overhead on their products.