Want to make HDD factory fresh, start over.

rlee

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2008
I am a new builder with an Intel DG965WH MOBO, a Hitachi Deskstar 7K160 80G HDD, and XP Pro, SP2 purchased for OEM.

Through various newbie experiments, I have now got my one HDD partitioned as Disk 0, with one primary partition (C:)30GB, and one extended partition with 2 logical drives (D:)37GB, and (E:)10GB. Using Disk Management, I see that all 3 volumes are healthy, that (C:) is a System drive, and that (D:) is the boot drive.

When I turn on the computer, one of the early screens is an opportunity to choose between 3 different operating systems, all Windows XP Professional. Only one actually works.

I know I could use the setup as is. However, partly to learn more, I would like to get the HDD back to where it was when it came out of the box, and start initialization, partitioning, and formatting from the beginning.

I can't find anything on this forum, support.microsoft, GPARTED forums, or Hitachi support that tells me how to do this. I can't get FDISK to run from a bootable floppy. I can't get GPARTED to run from a live CD-it won't completely boot up-has a LOOP error.

When I try to delete C, I get "Windows cannot delete the active system partition on this disk." When I try to delete D, I get "Windows cannot delete the partition that contains your Windows system files." It looks like E: will probably delete.

I have no data, configurations, updates, etc on this HD. Every last byte could go.

Would appreciate any help. Seems like a very basic job, just can't find the answer.

zenmaster

Splendid
Feb 21, 2006
The Simplest thing to do is just boot from the Windows CD and reinstall Windows. There will be an option to delete all of your partitions and start fresh.