Advice on parts for new PC

ausskiller

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2007
Hi, I'm looking at building a new PC to replace my old desktop (P4 2.53ghz, GF4 Ti4600, 512mb DDR333) and become my primary games machine (replacing my core duo 2.16ghz, GF Go 7900GS, 2gb ram laptop). I'm also a games developer so CPU power is essential so that I can run debug builds playably, minimise compile times and do redering/modelling in 3DS Max efficiently.
Money is no issue but naturally I don't wan't to be wasting too much money, for instance if I had to choose between a 8800GTX and an ultra I'd get the GTX.

One slightly strange requirement is that the computer needs to be able to run stable (at full load) in a room that can get as hot as 30c-35c. To make things worse water-cooling and heavy heatsinks are not a viable option as I'm building myself and don't want the risk of leaks or of the heatsink damaging the MB when I take it to lans (as happened to a friend at his first lan after buying a new rig :( ).
That pretty much means I won't be overclocking and I'm going to need a decent case to keep things cool, unlike my previous computer where I just bought the cheapest good looking case I could find. What's good? What's not?

Due to CPU requirements I'm definatly looking at quad core CPUs, particularly the QX6850 with it's 1333mhz fsb, however the Yorkfield (or is it Penryn?) processors sound like they may be worth waiting for especially given the 45nm architecture could help with my heat issues. Does anyone know which month they are likely to come out in? The closest date I could pin down for their release was sometime late 2007. What opinions do people have about waiting for them?