Over Clocking a Q6600 on a ASROCK 4CoreDual-VSTA Motherboard

MythicEVIL

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
Im trying to over clock my Q6600 on a ASROCK 4CoreDual-VSTA Motherboard.
Has anyone used this combination?
I have done searches but was unable to find any examples on what options to change and what to change them too...
Im very new to OCing and would love to know what settings others have found to be the fastest but most stable speed.

BTW, I have a NVIDIA 7800 AGP card and 2GB DDR2 667 Memory.

m1ddy

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2007
have you read the overclocking C2D and quads in the sticky at the top of this forum? It might be hard to find a guide using the exact same combination of hardware that you are running.

cnumartyr

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2007
Read the sticky.

I really doubt you will get much more than 3.0 or 3.2 stable out of that board (if that). It's not exactly built for OCing a quad.

You don't need to know to change X setting on X motherboard. You learn what clock speed is, you learn a multiplier, and you learn vCore. You then apply that to your setup and tweak as needed. People asking for "I have a Q6600 and I want to OC it to 3.0 GHz what do I change" gets annoying.

MythicEVIL

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
Not intended to be annoying but I didnt really didnt want to go through to much for just a one time alteration on the bios. I realize I might not get it overclocked much with this motherboard. Just wanted to know if anyone else has these two items so I dont have to go through all the trial and error process...

Thanatos421

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2007