Sign in with
Your question

OEM Vista, New Hard Drive, Can I?

Last response: in Storage
January 22, 2008 3:42:42 PM

I built a computer using Vista Home Premium 64. The hard drive I have the OS on, I want to use it as an external drive, and buy a new hard drive to put the OS on. Can I take Vista OEM off the hard drive it's currently on, and put it on the new hard drive, or am I locked into using the one hard drive forever? Thank you!

More about : oem vista hard drive

January 22, 2008 3:53:07 PM

With Vista OEM you are only locked to one motherboard forever; switching HDDs should be no problem.
January 22, 2008 3:54:12 PM

You will be able to do it.

If for some reason you have to call in to perform the activiation. Be honest by telling them that you have an OEM version, and that you are simply swapping out a defective hard drive.

I had to call in and activate when I swapped my video card, and I told them I was a system builder and simply upgrading the video card for my client. No prob. :) 
Related resources
January 22, 2008 4:00:10 PM

Two One more options 1) Use Acronis / Seagate Disk Manager DiscWizard software to migrate from one drive to the other. It is free from seagate if you have one of their drives in your system (seagate or maxtor).

2) Use the OEM disk to do a clean install on the new Hard Disk. -> Select Advanced options or something like that from the upgrade and point to the new disk. If that fails (I'm not positive that it will work) you can do a clean boot from the Vista Disc, install a trial version by omitting your serial number and then upgrade the trial version to activated Home Premium by running the upgrade from inside vista.

*Edit* Sorry you said OEM not Upgrade version. Just call Micro$oft if the OEM version does not activate.

Cheers,

Cyrus
January 22, 2008 4:00:36 PM

JuiceJones said:
With Vista OEM you are only locked to one motherboard forever; switching HDDs should be no problem.