Sign in with
Your question

e2160 to ~3.0 on P35-DS3L?

Last response: in Overclocking
November 22, 2007 3:37:15 AM

I'm having trouble taking my e2160 very far beyond 2.4, and I was hoping to reach about 3.0, which I've heard is quite reasonable. I seem to need some help reaching my mark.

I've got a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Crucial Ballistix (2x1GB PC6400) SDRAM DDR2 800, and an AC7 cooling the chip. There are also 4 case fans, but the chip is running a little hot (48c idle 65c load in TAT) at 2.4. Is that okay, or should I think of adding a fan in the plastic side-panel of my case + try to optimize cord placement for better air flow? I've already knocked the vcore down to its lowest stable setting.

I'm relatively new to over-clocking, so I followed the guide here on the forums (though my mobo is quite a bit different than the one in the guide). I first tried easy settings I've heard worked for some others (basically 333x9 + matching ram settings) but that wouldn't post. Testing revealed that once I start ramping up towards 280+ X 9 the system will fail to load windows or even to post at all. Playing around with the vcore has helped go from no-post to no-windows, but it's still not running stable, and then I have more heat issues.

Where do I go from here?

More about : e2160 p35 ds3l

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
November 22, 2007 5:32:38 AM

Have u changed the RAM and CPU voltages?
November 22, 2007 1:03:43 PM

Its that or you might have just gotten a lemon out of the bunch. Make SURE your memory multiplier is within reasonable limits. I have the SAME exact board and if you leave your mem multi on auto it just goes full bore and usually you wont go to far, or post, just try to get it close enough to 800 as possible better under than over aka 700 than 850. Relax mem timings to 5-5-5-15 rest auto, you can enter that menu by pressing CTRL+F1 once in the BIOS, the screen will flicker. Then when you go to MIT you'll see the hidden settings.

Advanced BIOS features