First Ground-Up Build -- Please Evaluate and Critique

Sci_Tech

Distinguished
Sep 2, 2007
Hello - I'm new to the THG forums, although I've enjoyed browsing the benchmarks and reviews for a while.

I'm assembling a gaming / photo & audio editing / general home use computer. I'm a student, and I'm definitely on a budget, although I've been saving $ for a while and my computer needs an upgrade.

My current PC is a socket A Athlon with 1 GB DDR and a 7800GS AGP videocard. Newer games such as Oblivion and Company of Heroes are playable at medium settings, but games of the FPS genre have noticeable lag that always occurs at the worst of times, especially when multiple players/bots are engaged in combat.

My goal is to select components that provide excellent price/performance, and I'd also like some upgrade paths (CPU, VGA) for newer components down the road. It seems that this isn't a great time to build, with 45nm Core processors and Phenom around the corner, not to mention the rumored G92. However, I'd like to get this assembled now, and possibly make some upgrades next year.

Also, this is my first ground-up build (I've upgraded RAM, video, and power supply on current PC), so please bear with me. :D

Here goes:

-Antec 900
-Corsair HX-620
-Gigabyte P35-DS3P
-Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 (will replace with quad-core Penryn when prices drop for Nehalem)
-ZALMAN 9700 LED 110mm CPU Cooler
-2x Scythe S-FLEX SFF21D 120mm Case Fan (Antec 900 places PSU at bottom, heat is pushed upwards at GPU - these will provide additional GPU cooling)
-2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800 CAS 4 RAM (may upgrade to 4GB down the road)

Video card.... Lots of questions here. The video card will be powering a 1680x1050 monitor. I'm still unsure about which card to buy. Honestly, I'm a bit apprehensive about purchasing a card that will be 1/3 the power of G92 when it comes out in a few months. http://news.softpedia.com/news/NVIDIA-039-s-G92-Joins-the-1-Teraflops-Club-55548.shtml