Looking to build my own 1st time - need parts help on $700 budget

Melo255

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2007
OK so I'm completely new at this but I've wanted to build my own PC for a long time and I feel that now I have a good grasp on how to do it. I'm a mechanically oriented person and if I can ever do something to save some money and really learn about what I'm building with some effort I always do it myself. Now it's time to try it on my comp.

I know I'd prefer an Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 so it'll last me for a few years before I have to upgrade - I have no intention of messing around and overclocking it as of now though I may in the future if and when I get more comfortable.

My *preferences* though I'll listen to anything you smarter people have to say or recommend:
Case: size doesn't matter as long as it's roomy enough for future upgrades and looks pretty good. You couldn't recommend one that was too big.
Hard Drive: bigger is better, I was thinking 320 - 500GB
Optical Drive: normal multi DVD+-RW
Video Card - I was thinking something in the 256MB range like the 8600GT? Not really sure here.
Motherboard - no clue, this is what confuses me the most
RAM - 2GB for a lot of reasons

I'm looking for a compatible parts list for everything except a monitor and OS that would preferably go around $700 or less. If the E6600 and it's compatible parts aren't feasible with my budget is there another CPU, like the Athlon x2 series or a less powerful Core 2 Duo, you would recommend? I normally don't ask for help on anything but I've been doing so much reading that everything is starting to blur, you know what I mean?

Some notes - I only plan on casual gaming if any at all on this. I do do a bit of video-editing but I have another PC I can use for that if it would shoot up the costs on this one. This PC will primarily be for everyday home use and watching and storing DVD and MP3 files.