Sign in with
Your question

I formatted my 8GB SD HC card and comp can't read it now

Last response: in Storage
January 27, 2008 10:56:50 PM

To start off, I have http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd...
It was working fine, until I attempted to a install windows XP on it (asus eee). I used the windows xp installation "formatting" and failed to install XP on the flash...so anyways...now I plug the SD card in, and it detects it, but when i try to open it it says "please insert disc into E:"...do i need some sort of drivers for the SD card itself?
Please help!!!
January 27, 2008 11:16:47 PM

Can I ask a dumb question - why are you putting the OS on an SD card in the first place - why not just install on the hard drive?

I'm no expert but it may have something to do with the following. When you install the OS on a HD you usually have the bios set up to go looking for the OS when the system boots. The bios is normally set up so it will look at the C drive then the CD/DVD ROM (E drive) and then the A drive or floppy. The bios can be configured to look at specific drives in a specific order. At the moment I suspect you are not telling it to look at the drive assigned ot the SD card when the computer boots up so when it detects the OS it goes looking for it on the E drive.

Again don't take this as gospel as I have never tired anything like this.
January 27, 2008 11:24:38 PM