Sign in with
Your question

RAID 10 on 2X80 GB and 2X250GB hdds

Last response: in Storage
February 7, 2008 6:19:23 AM

Hi there,

I'm new to raid. we have a small office and have recently got a new system with the intel S3000AH motherboard which supports in-built RIAD. the system has 2X80GB drives (planning to be used as boot drives for the OS) and 2X120GB drives (planning to be used as data storage)

can RAID 10 be implemented on these set of hard disks? if so can you give me any links to how I can set up RAID 10 . I tried setting up RAID 10 in the bios but I could not get through. I could only manage RAID 1 on the 2X80GB and RAID 1 on the 2X120GB.

any guidance will be really helpful.

thanks in advance

More about : raid 2x80 2x250gb hdds

February 7, 2008 6:25:59 AM

Hi falconhead,

What are you going to use the PC for? Why do you want to go RAID 10?

UD.

p.s. The short answer is NO, RAID 10 needs a minimum of four disks.

p.p.s. I'm boring old school that always goes for RAID 1.
February 7, 2008 6:34:51 AM

Oops sorry I should have given more info.

I will be using this as a server in my office where we develope web applications based on asp.net and php. as well as as an internet gateway for my office users. there are just about 15 users. the processor being used is intel Xeon 64bit dual core on the intel S3000AH server motherboard.

Quote:
p.s. The short answer is NO, RAID 10 needs a minimum of four disks.

I think I was not clear on this one. yes there are 4 HDDs. 2 of them are 80 GB and 2 of them are 250 GB (corrected from the last post where I said they were 2X120GB).

so now using these 4 drives can we implement RAID 10? or do I need to have 4 identical drives like 4X250GB?

Thank you UncleDave for your immediate response.
Related resources
February 7, 2008 6:53:55 AM

Hi falconhead,