Sign in with
Your question

Programmer acting as IT staff ... HELP!

Last response: in Storage
February 7, 2008 2:34:26 PM

Hello,

We are currently working on building a new file-server. The biggest problem is that I am a programmer and only know enough about hardware to get myself in trouble. :)  We are not so much in need of performance but of fault tolerance. So I am planning on using raid 1 mirrors.

Two biggest questions are:
1.) Should I use onboard raid controller or have it separate from the motherboard. My concern is if the motherboard fails, we will not be able to recover the data on the raid drives. Along with this, should I purchase two of the raid controllers in the event that the first fails. More broadly speaking, are raid controllers universal or manufacture/model specific.

2.) I plan to do two raid configurations: One raid set for the operating system and one for the data being served. Any recommendations or issues that can be given would be appreciated.
February 7, 2008 3:04:08 PM

Thank you for this link ... that helped me allot. However, your reply confused me just a bit. Does "native controller" mean the same controller (brand/model) as the raid was originally created with? If so does this mean that if the original controller failed then we would need another controller with of the same brand to recover the data?
Related resources
February 13, 2008 7:19:27 AM

Hi platics,

Sorry for the delayed reply.

platics said:
Does "native controller" mean the same controller (brand/model) as the raid was originally created with?

Trying to keep it simple!