Sign in with
Your question

Need some help installing IDE HD

Last response: in Storage
February 11, 2008 12:10:59 AM

I'm trying to install a 80GB WesternDigital IDE hard disk in an old AMD K2-300 machine. On the IDE cable, I have a CDROM drive, set in master, which works fine and on the second connector I have the HD set on slave.

The problem is, when I boot the computer, it detects the CDROM, but when it arrives at Secondary Slave drive... it doesn't detect the hard drive. If I plug only the cdrom it works fine...

The HD is brand new I bought it a couple of months ago and never used it, nor remove it from is plastic bag.

What could be the problem?

More about : installing ide

February 11, 2008 1:18:23 AM

What happens if you put the HDD on the IDE primary master or slave?
February 11, 2008 1:47:04 AM

I think I tried putting it in primary master and it tried to boot up from it but it gave a boot error (because there's nothing on it)...

I didn't try primary slave since there's already something plugged in... but it should work has secondary slave right?
Related resources
a b G Storage
February 11, 2008 1:51:14 AM

Should work fine configured as slave.
Are you sure the jumpers are correct, try without the CD attached and the drive set to master. If that doesn't work, there is something wrong with the drive.
February 11, 2008 2:00:23 AM

Even if it's brand new? Could this mean that the drive is defect?
February 11, 2008 2:07:47 AM

what kind of data cable are you using? is it 80 wire or 40 wire... this has been so long ago on something that slow.. you may also have to go into the bios and set it up there.

Bioses today are much better where they auto-detect, back in the day you had to go in an manually set them. Do you know what the motherboard supports in the way of IDE interface? [udma 33 / 66 / 100]?

Those are likely things to check also you will need to fdisk and format the drive before the OS will see it.
February 11, 2008 2:29:55 AM