Sign in with
Your question

like everyone else I am thinking about building a new computer

Last response: in Systems
September 11, 2007 1:03:10 AM

In advance I am sorry if this gets to wordy as I try to explain everything. I am new to a lot of this whole building of computer things so I have a lot of questions and worries before I jump in head first with a lot of money. Since the first thing people always asks is what is your budget; I am uncertain of my budget at this time, I want a nice computer...so if that means saving for a while...so be it (also, things will be cheaper if I keep saving).

My last computer was a Dell, which means most of the stuff that is in it if not all of it is trash. I bought it back in early 2001, so all the stuff that could be pulled probably isnt even worth pulling. 40GB harddrive...seemed big at the time...LOL. Keyboard requires a special plug, which I am not sure if it will be on any motherboard (not like keyboards are really expensive or anything). Mouse is newer. I have nice speakers that go with it, so I will be keeping those. My screen is a bit small compared to the things out today. Its 16" diagonal CRT Trinitron (I gotta tell....this screen still looks good...but I want bigger :) ).

So basically, we are talking totally new computer here...from the ground up I need it all. Heck...Ill even need a battery backup as well (my old one stopped working one day). I have been reading this forum for quite a while now waiting for the moment to ask all the questions I have since I didnt want to be a total noob about all the computer stuff.