questions about my future rig

exarrkun

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2006
hi all

i finally collected the money (i'm a student :sarcastic: ) for building my ultimate dream pc, but i have some questions about some things

in my country, the xeon x3220 is cheaper than the Q6600, is there any reason not to go for the xeon?

my case will be the TT armor with the side fan, will my cooler (ultra 120 extreme) still fit in the case?

will this cooler allow me to clock the C2Q to 3,2ghz?

do you guys have any suggestions, commentss on the parts below? feel free to say them!
these are the system specs:

xeon/core2Q 2,4 ghz quadcore
Geil black dragon 4x 1gb DDR2 800 cas 4
TT Armor case
Termalright ultra 120 extreme CPU cooler
8800 gtx (gigabyte is the cheapest here is that ok?)
OCZ modstream 750 watt (will this be enough, overclocking in mind?)
2x seagate 7200.10 320 gb
2x Scyte S flex fan for cpu cooler
AS5 thermal grease
DVD rom drive (will use the burner from my previous rig)
creative Xifi extreme gamer

for the motherboard, i might wait for X38 to come out here, if i'm not patient enough :D i will buy the asus p35 deluxe

feel free to answer/give comments!!!!

thanks in advance

akhilles

Splendid
While X38 is on the way, it may have issues that people are going to find out. Perhaps, a few bios releases will fix everything. P35, on the other hand, is mature and rock solid. Neither will support SLi. Only CrossFire. Also, X38 mobos will be more expensive than the P35 counterparts.

I would get one of these: ASUS P5K vanilla or Deluxe; Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R; Abit IP35 Pro. They overclock about the same, but cost differently.

Scythe S Flex have 2 versions. One is much faster (higher CFM). They cost about the same.

Thermal Specification: 85°C
http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sspec=slact

Thermal Specification: 71°C
http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sspec=slacr