Slow posting with an Asrock 775i65g :(

Radiux

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2007
Hi everyone, Im a newbie so please be gentle :D

I have an Asrock 775i65g motherboard running a Core 2 duo and1gb ddr400 ram, the problem is that the motherboard takes an abnormally long time to post, let me explain:

When I press the power on button everything starts (fans, Dvd drives, leds)...but the system doesnt post until exactly 20 seconds later, but when it finally post everything is detected fast and the system is totally stable. (tested 2 consecutive DAYS with orthos)

Ive tried to boot without everything but essentials (1 ram module &cpu/fan)
with the same result

edit: also i recently updated the bios with the latest one, without any result.

>my system specs:
-core 2 duo 4400
-asrock 775i65g rev 2.04 bios 3.20
-1gb ddr400 kingston
-120gb maxtor
-dvdram & cdrw lg
-geforce 6600 agp
-antec 450watt PSU (also tried anothers)

any help will be very very aprecciated!!

Radiux

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2007
Thanx for posting!

Yes, i did a fresh install with low level format!, im almost convinced that the motherboard is kinda faulty, but i want to spend al my chances before asking for a refund, Ive read two o three similar threads related to exactly the same problem and motherboard in different forums, maybe the motherboard has problems with cetain cpu steppings..who knows, someone out there with the same mobo?

When you say it takes 20 secs to post what exactly do you see on the monitor during those 20 secs. If you see the 'splash' screen ) a logo of some sort) you should go into the BIOS and turn off 'dispaly logo' (or however they refer to it) and then you might see what is hanging up the system.

joefriday

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2006