Sign in with
Your question

Gaming PC please help me out!

Last response: in Systems
September 12, 2007 1:11:38 AM

Hello everyone!,
I have been in the market for a new gaming computer for a while now. I have been thinking about building my own. Listed below is the build I am currently debating. I have also been thinking of buying a ready built system mainly because of the monthly payment option. I'm a college student, and I could use the extra gain in credit, as well as the spread out cost. I'm looking to spend no more than $2300 on either option. The build listed below came out to around $1800ish. Few things aren't listed like OS and some cooling accessories. Any help, suggestions, comments, please let me know what you all think!

Antec 900ATX Mid Case (looking into maybe something bigger)
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz
Seagate 500GB SATA HDD
Corsair DHX XMS2 Dominator Dual Channel 2048MB PC8500 DDR2 1066Mhz
BFG nForce 680i SLI NVIDIA Socket 775 ATX Motherboard
OCZ 850w GameXStream Power Supply
BFG Nvidia 8800GTXOC2 768MB
or
Keep my current BFG 7600GTOC and wait for the 9 series to make a decision.

I have a 22" samsung 226bw, Bose 3.1, along with a X-Fi FPS sound card that I will be keeping from my current computer to go with my new one

Thanks for any help and suggestions!!

More about : gaming

September 12, 2007 1:20:56 AM

you should look into the Gigabyte P35 DS3R or DS3L boards... they're good price/value, and allow for good OC'ing.

Also, look at EVGA video cards, they offer a step-up program, so if you were to get the 8800gts 640 or gtx even you could step up to a 9 series within 90 days or so of purchase... and only pay the difference in cost. (that's what I believe is the deal anyway, you can read more on their website.)

Not going to say much about the ram, there's a really nice Crucial Ballistix set on newegg for $110 (ddr2 800) but if you want the 1066 that's your option.