Sign in with
Your question

Beginner in Need of Advice

Last response: in CPUs
September 18, 2007 12:56:00 AM

I apologize for wasting forum space, but I am very new to Tom's Hardware and am looking to build myself a new computer. I am completely lost and I do not know where to start, where to go for information, and how I should select my parts to determine what computer is worthwhile. If anyone can help, could anyone tell me what essential components are needed build a computer and what parts make up the system. I want to build a fast computer that is suitable for top-notch gaming and something that can multi-task. Any information would be appreciated.

More about : beginner advice

September 18, 2007 1:12:15 AM

Welcome... no honest posting from someone needing help is ever a waste of space.

First things first.. We need to know what your budget is. How much money can, or do you intend to spend? This will help us determine the best course of action for you. So be very specific on how much you want to spend.
a b à CPUs
September 18, 2007 1:18:15 AM

Yeah, give us a budget.
Also, are you in the US? (Just so we know if newegg links are useful)
Do you already have any parts, for example a monitor?
Related resources
September 18, 2007 2:08:51 AM

oh boy... here goes a really long and bearly readable paragraph by me. I'm assuming you know NOTHING so I'm explaining EVERYTHING in detail. It's not that I'm assuming you are stupid. I'm also assuming you just want a gaming rig not to learn about the details of every components so here it goes.
The best sites buying computer conpontents is Newegg.com Search anything I mention on Newegg.com you'll find it
What is your budget? $2500, if you are rich $5000 or $1000

First thing for a gaming computer or any computer is CPU.
CPU:
Do you prefer AMD brand or Intel brand?