Why is Sapphire #1?

I am relatively new to the gaming community. I just built my first gaming rig in March with a Sapphire X1950GT.

One thing I have not been able to figure out is why is Sapphire the #1 seller of ATI cards. Can anyone enlighten me on this?

I bought Sapphire because I heard they were the #1 seller of ATI cards.

I looked at their website, it really is not impressive. I emailed Sapphire thru their website and never got a response back. There Customer Service is practically non-existant or Self Serve. They don't appear to always be the cheapest either.

Are there cards really that much better?

They really seem to outsell the competition by alot.

Example: I just looked up ATI 2900XTs on NewEgg then did a sort order by most # of Reviews. The Sapphire 2900XT had 53 reviews where has the 2nd place 2900XT contender HIS only had 25 reviews.

Can anyone tell me why Sapphire is #1?

justinmcg67

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
I don't think anyone knows why, really. I know that I bought a Sapphire card and it was VERY stable, it was cheaper in this case, and plus it came with a cool sticker and had a fair amount of reviews. =)

StevieD

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2004
OEMs (Dell, HP etc) must get their graphics cards from somebody.

Sapphire may be selling ATI based cards to one of favorite OEMs thus increasing Sapphire's sales far beyond the needs of the DIY consumer base.

jevon

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2004
I thought Sapphire cards (at least the older ones - AGP and early PCIe) were made literally in the same plant as ATI's own cards? Hence you were gettiing basically the same quality/performance if not slightly better.

sojrner

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2006
saphire has also been the contractor that ati went to in the past to build the "built by ati" branded cards. The 2 companies have had a very close relationship over the years.

as ati/amd seems to be phasing out their own branded cards saphire will fill in that gap...