Sign in with
Your question

Absolute Noobie! Tell me if I have selected the right parts!

Last response: in Systems
September 20, 2007 12:38:40 AM

Hi everyone. I am an absolute noobie. I do not know much about computers but I have been doing a couple months of homework. I have always bought HP or Dell but I would like to try the custom route. This is a budget build and I am trying to keep it around $600; 700 max

here is the list. Please critics welcome!! You opinons are critical in determing whether I will fork out the money for the build. Thanks ahead of time!

CPU - AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual Core 4600+ I picked this over Intel Core 2 cpus because it is about half the price of a E6400 I was looking at. The drop in performance is not a big issue for me since I am not looking for benchmarks. If anything, I am looking for reliability, stability of the CPU.

MOBO - Asus M2NPV - VM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
I would love other suggestions but the PC store I am ordering from only carries Asus mobo. I can't use newegg as I am canadian(limited venders). So please ONLY Asus mobo suggestions $100-125

Honestly, I picked this because it had the most reviews on newegg that was under $100.
I figured the most reviewed = probably the most bought = probably the best mobo in that price range.

RAM - Kingston 1024MB DDR2 667MHZ. Because its on sale for $40 and I think it should work fine

HDD - Sata Western Digital 320GB

CASE - NZXT Apollo Classic. I went with a better case because I will most likely be upgrading everything later in the future except the case. All reviews point to the best bang for the buck on this case.

PSU - Thermaltake 500 Watts PurePower, Read a few articles on PSU and decided I should spend some money here instead of a generic one. Can I get away with using just a generic for my setup if I can? And how many watts do I need? Is 500 watts overkill for this system?