Wireless Mouse and Airplanes

AlbusD

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2007
Greetings!

On a recent Frontier flight from St. Louis to Denver, I was told by a flight attendant that I could not use a wireless mouse with a laptop. After flying more years than I care to count, this is the first time I had ever heard THAT. As far as I know, the typical (Microsoft) wireless laptop mouse has an RF range of about 3 feet, so it sounds like more airline BS.

I'm not an expert on RF interference. Can anyone enlighten me? What's the skinny?

Thanks,

AlbusD

darkguset

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2006
G'day mate,
The simple reason for asking people to switch off their RF devices is this: Yes your device was manufactured and complied under specific data and RF interference when it left the factory and SHOULD not interfere with any of the aircraft devices. But who tells you that your device is not malfunctioning at that point or will not malfunction while flying? How about a wire in your mouse that shorts and creates an unpredictable electromagnetic field? They are not saying that your equipment WILL cause trouble, they are just minimising the risks by AVOIDING trouble. And that is by keeping everything switched off. I don't think people will die if they do not use their mobiles for a few hours on a flight! People have become very dependent on mobiles and laptops (not to mention smoking! LOL). Sit back in your airplane seat, relax and enjoy the flight.

rayzor

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2004
Nope, there is no truth to what the flight attendant told you, especially with the range of the mouse taken into consideration. I am a private pilot and the only reason the cell phone ban exists is because of the load it puts on the cellular infrastructure. There is not enough energy in a mouse to disrupt aircraft systems.

oh, and expelliarmus albusD!!

rodney_ws

Splendid
Dec 29, 2005