Possibly functional ASUS v9999

GreggBrain

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2007
Hello, newbie here. I've been using these forums off and on for a while to troubleshoot various problems and you guys are great. I was hoping someone might be able to help me out a bit here...
I recently got a (used) ASUS v9999 Deluxe graphics card from a friend but I really don't know if it works. I believe the problem, hopefully, stems from the fact that it needs two molex connectors when my box only has a cheap 330w PSU. When I boot up the PC the monitor can't find a signal, but the graphics card's fan spins. I tried booting with only one molex connected and as expected the card beeped very loudly at me.
Now I can expect that if my PSU didn't have sufficient power for the graphics card that it would beep at me even if I had both connectors in place. I really do hope that it's the insufficient PSU, well, mainly because a PSU is a hell of a lot cheaper than a new card. Plus it was free!
I know the best way to test this is just to get the new PSU and be done with it but I was hoping that this was diagnosable via forum. I really have no way of testing it without plopping down the dough and buying a new PSU and I'd rather not spend the money just to find out the card is bricked.
Thank you, in advance :)

System: MSI K7N2 mobo, AMD Athlon 3200+ Barton, 1 gb PC3200 RAM, 2x 80gb HDs in RAID, and maybe an ASUS v9999 ;)

GreggBrain

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2007

Indeed. That's the card. I have both molex connectors in place, I just wanted to make sure that what i'm experiencing is normal for an underpowered rig. The card beeps at me on startup when I don't have both molexes connected, but does not beep when I do. However both scenarios give no output to the screen. Like I said, I don't want to buy a new PSU for a dead card... the wife would kill me.

I cant really see a card that needs two molex conectors running on a 330 watt psu.