All ready to go - I hope?

Clacker

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2007
Hi there - first post so greetings first and foremost.

After trawling through forums and websites, I think I've settled upon a PC to build within the next couple of days. However, this is my first time ever building a desktop (only ever used laptops at home - I'm a student). Is there a decent write up on building a pc anywhere? I know there's one on tomshardware but it seems quite old and as such perhaps out of date?

As such, whilst I have the components all selected I just want to make sure if I order what I write below, I'll be able to build it. Am I missing any wires or such? Are the components below compatible? With regards to overclocking - I am interested in doing it but not immediately as I want to make sure I can build a stock desktop first!

Finally - and apologies for the same question as millions of other threads - are the components I have selected a good bunch? PC will mostly be used for gaming with perhaps some other minor app usage (Photoshop mainly); my monitor is a 23" 1920 max resolution. I am student so budget is quite small - 1400 GBP max! I will be ordering from overclockers.co.uk as that is the only website I or someone I know has had experience with.

Thanks for all the help!

CPU - E6750 125.71
The price of the Q6600 is attractive, however I doubt I will be using many applications that can utilise 4 cores effectively, and as a result it seems a bit like overkill. As such, the price of the E6750 makes it very attractive and with its overclocking potential, perhaps can hold me over for a year or so.

Mobo - GA-P35-DS3R 88.11
Only heard great things about this motherboard. Not planning on doing SLI as I don't have the funds and this MB seems quite future-proof.

Ram - Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400C4 800MHz 2x 70.49
4x1GB sticks. Planning on using 64bit Vista. Would it be better do get 2x2GB? It certainly seems more expensive though.

GFX - EVGA 8800GTX @ 575Mhz 358.36