choice of motherboards

ayejimlad

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2007
Hi

I am building a new system with the following components:

Core 2 Duo e6750 w/ arctic freezer 7
74GB WD Raptor
4 x 1GB DDR2 RAM (havent decided which brand yet)
gefore 8600gt
Windows Vista

I need advice on the motherboard, i see 3 choices but im not sure. I started looking 2 weeks ago, at first i thought Abit ip35 pro, then after more looking around forums i thought ga-p35-ds3r, after more reading forums i have been thinking asus p5k-e. I think i need some help...

So i see my options as follows: IP35-Pro, DS3R/DS4, P5K-E.

I will be using the pc for mainly day to day usage of internet, MS office, and gaming. I have no experience of overclocking, but i would like to overlock this e6750 to 3.2 ghz. So a motherboard that allows me to do this easily would be wanted. As for memory overlocking, i dont really know much about it. I don't ever want to use RAID or DDR3. Finally i want a reliable motherboard (who doesnt).

So im looking for a motherboard that is easy to overclock and reliable. Also could someone explain what the main differences are between the Gigabyte ds3r and ds4 is please?

Could i have a short pros and cons for each of the motherboards please? or a comparison? Feel free to reccommend a different motherboard and/or reccomend any decent memory for a particular motherboard.

Many thanks in advance.