Sign in with
Your question

New Budget Gaming Rig; Opinions?

Last response: in Opinions and Experiences
November 15, 2012 12:47:45 PM

Hello everyone. I'm planning on creating a decently powered gaming rig, and would like some input from the community. I'm a working university student so my budget is quite limited, therefore I tried to save wherever possible. Also this will be my first built computer, so I apologize in advance if I'm not too knowledgeable in areas. I tried to keep the rig under 1000, but I understand that it is hard to do so. I'd be willing to go to about 1050$ or so, but would really like to keep it under 1k.

At any rate, here is my rig, taken from PCPartsPicker:

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($219.99 @ NCIX)

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($31.05 @ DirectCanada)

Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($129.99 @ Canada Computers)

Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($34.79 @ DirectCanada)

Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($89.99 @ NCIX)

Video Card: MSI Radeon HD 7950 3GB Video Card ($269.99 @ NCIX)

Case: Apevia X-TRPJR-BK/450 ATX Mid Tower Case w/450W Power Supply ($49.99 @ Newegg Canada)

Power Supply: Thermaltake TR2 600W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($39.99 @ Canada Computers)

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit) ($96.99 @ Computer Valley)
Total: $962.77