Best HDD setup for gaming

Darkbonez

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2008
Hey guys!!!!!

Just want to start of saying im not good at putting questions in the best way, sorry if i am hard to understand :(

I am getting ready to build my first gaming PC and want to get everything right. I am having trouble with the best way to get the most performace for gaming with different setups for HDD.

I will be getting the

"Fujitsu MAX3073RC 73GB 15,000 RPM" and also looking at the

"Western Digital Raptor WD740ADFD 74GB 10,000 RPM"

Ok, remember, best performance for GAMING :kaola:

1. get 2 Fujitsu MAX3073RC 73GB 15,000 in RAID0 (simple) but will it be best for gaming performance?

2. leave them RAID 1 *if i leave raid1, im getting one 15k and one 10k* or 2 10k for #6

3. if i go with step 2(RAID1), which one should i place games in, programs in, OS in, for best speed? <----biggest question

4. Would i put OS and games on 15k for best performance and other stuff on 10k?
5. Or put ONLY games on 15k and put OS, programs, on 10k?
6. OR, i could get another smaller 10k HDD, for only OS, 15k for ONLY games, and the other 10k for ONLY programs

THANKS for the help!

dagger

Splendid
Mar 23, 2008
I think it would make more sense to put OS on 15k, as some OS files are accessed while loading game, but no game files are accessed when you're not playing. Make the most of your faster drive by putting the most frequently accessed files on it, which means the OS.

But keep in mind that such high end harddrives don't dramatically improve in game fps. That has to do with ram, aside from cpu and gpu. Remember, when you start loading a game, the data is unloaded from hdd to ram, where it is accessed on demand during gameplay. Thus, faster hdd mostly decrease initial load time, instead of improve fps during actual gameplay. Even the fastest hdd is far slower than the slowest ram, so avoid running out of ram and using page file at any cost. :p

Synh

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2008