Still new to this..

Madek

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
I know this gets asked very often on these boards but I would really appreciate some help from you guys. I'm building a new computer for gaming and will be playing all the new games coming out later this year, and will also be going back and playing games that I never had a chance to finish (Doom 3, Half-life 2, Bioshock, Prey..) Keep in mind that I most likely will not be doing any overclocking as I am not experienced with it and am still kind of afraid of ruining any of my PRECIOUS hardware. If you think it would be worth it to look into overclocking and switching up my hardware, please let me know.

COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ - Retail

AeroCool ZERODBA ZERODBA-S620 EPS 12V & ATX 12V 2.02 compliant with Powerful Dual +12V Rails 620W Power Supply - Retail

SAMSUNG 20X DVD±R DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-S203B - OEM

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6850 - Retail

Now some questions on my part.

Would getting another hard drive and running a RAID help performance in game? If it takes a few seconds less to load something without any fps increase.. then it's not a big deal for me.

I picked the Aerocool power supply because I've read that it's very stable and a solid power supply. This power supply should be fine, correct?

Went with the gskill memory because it has received great reviews on newegg.. does anyone know if I will encounter any problems with running the default timings on the gigabyte mother board?