Jheiliger

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2008
I need some help devising some systems...

I am a professional photographer, and I generate anywhere from 40-80GB of data per month.

History - I used to be a Network Technician/Desktop Support for about 400 users, so I am somewhat technically competent. I have been out of the field for about 5 years, so I am sure there are technologies that I am unaware exist.

Issues:

1.) ARCHIVING and ACCESS - Because of my profession, I would like to be able to access the data that I archive today perhaps 10yrs from now. To this point, I have been backing up on DVD and storing them in a safe, but I am aware of the possible short life term of DVD's. What do you think is a reasonable or "best case" solution for Archival??

2.) BACKUP and RECOVERY - I need a reasonable solution for B&R of my current working files. I need to have access to about a year's worth of data, which equates to about 750GB of "active files". That number could go down if I had a more reliable and efficient way of archival.

--- P.S. I have an old computer that I have considered turning into a NAS unit, but I am concerned about transfer times over our network. Could I attach it to my workstation via E-Sata or something? Because we are moving around so much data, the solution needs to take speed into consideration.

Thanks for any help you can provide!! I am a small business, so my budget for a solution is not really large... perhaps $1.5-$2k??

Cheers,

Joe (www.jheiliger.com)

boonality

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2008
Well my perspective is this. You should have 2 copies of your most important data. A DVD is fine, the short life of a DVD? That perplexes me as I have DVD's that are years old and they look brand spankin new, granted you have to take care of them! But they should last you decades...