How to save hard drive before reinstalling WinXP?

ilikepcgames

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2008
So I stupidly installed both 680i motherboard nforce drivers and latest nvidia 8800gtx beta video card drivers at the same time without uninstalling the previous drivers first. When I rebooted my system my kb and mouse light up and I can get into BIOS but when I get to the blue WinXP logon screen the kb and mouse do not respond!

So, basically I cannot log into Windows XP at all. A guy at my work told me I might have to reinstall WinXP but this would wipe my hard drive clean, and I have lots of important stuff on that hard drive I cant lose!

I have a 500gb external hard drive, is there a way I can get my internal HD info on my external HD before I reinstall Windows?

If I cant, is there any way I can fix this problem that anyone knows of?

Please help I am a noob and you pros here at Toms may be my only hope!

my system:
evga 680i mobo
c2d 6600
2x8800gtx sli
WinXP
320g seagate barracuda HD
500gb external HD

Thanks for any help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ilikepcgames

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2008
OK I know how to boot to the xp disc, and when I run repair it asks me which drive to fix and i type 1 for the C: windows and then it asks my admin password, which I type in.

Then a new line appears "C:windows" with a solid dot after it and it does nothing. I type HELP for a list of commands but i dont know which command to run or if i have to run a command at all.

Thanks for your help friend

ZOldDude

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2006
A repair install is not tha same as the "R"epair consol.
1. Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.

2. When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below

This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer: