Sign in with
Your question

Future SLI

Last response: in Systems
October 3, 2007 1:25:13 AM

EDIT: I realized my mobo wasn't SLI, so I have (temporarily/permanently?) replaced it.

Please critique my rig:

I will use it for surfing, some photoshop, perhaps some 3D modelling, maybe rendering. But for simplicity's sake, let's say I'm interested in running new games at fairly high settings smoothly - Crysis/BioShock/World in Conflict.

This is my first time putting one together. My goal is to be able to go SLI in the future, but I don't want to now. My reasoning is that I can get a good card at the moment that can play new games well (I think). And then in a couple years or something I can double it up with SLI and get back up to speed. If I were to drop down in card quality a couple notches (I don't want to spend a fortune and get 2 top of the line cards right now), I could get good production for a decent price, but no room for expansion, besides complete replacement.

CPU: Intel's Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66Ghz
seems to be better at everything at the moment compared to AMD, even gaming. Plus I think I found a good deal for less than $200. At the moment, I am considering using the factory heatsink and have not looked into CPU cooling fans.

mobo: EVGA 122-CK-NF68-T1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
It gets pretty good reviews. I believe this one is compatible with all of my options, but I'm here to make sure. $200 also seemed like a decent price.

graphics: MSI NX8800GTX-T2D768E-HD OC GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Pricey for me, but gets a significant jump in performance over the rest of the pack. Again, I want to be sure to be able to play well right now, and then get another card and go SLI some time in the future. Is there another card I should consider that will perform well on it's own today, and be significantly cheaper? ATI's new HD2900 PRO?