New System Build for gaming or just wait?

boozie

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2007
Currently I'm running:

p4 2.4 ghz
1 gig ram
ATI X850 256 mb agp

With TF2 coming out and WAR on the way I'm wondering if I should get something new within the month or wait until early next year.

I've got about $1300 to spend w/ no monitor/keyboard/mouse/OS needed.
I don't OC, and I won't run SLI ever.

Running games at 1280X1024 leaves me looking at 8800 gts 320 mb or the x2900 pro (IF I can get one by the time I make up my mind). Can/should I get something more expensive?

For CPU, I'm looking at Q6600 vs E6750 or should I get something entirely different?

Any advice for mobos/ram? Planning on 2-gigs and running windows XP.

I'm extremely new at building computers so any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Hi Boozie,

I'm looking at your old system and guessing that it lasted about 4 years. I'm also guessing you'd like your new system to last several years too. If that's true, go for a Q6600 rather than any dual-core. Do read Maziar's links, but don't get a dual core just because it's a bit faster in today's games or $100 cheaper.

I'd also look at GA-P35-DS3L. It's a bit cheaper than the others listed above and still very good. The only problems with it are lack of RAID support and the limit of 3 hard drives+1 DVD (the others would allow 5 or 7 drives).

8800 GTS 320 is your best choice right now IMO. HD2900Pro is good too, but it's brand new and I can't guarantee that its drivers are good. The 8800 GTS 320 drivers are not perfect but they did have almost a year of bug fixes.

RAM: Patriot is also a good brand and not very expensive. DDR2-667 would be OK too, but DDR2-800 is best.

Case: Centurion 534, for example. PSU: maybe a Corsair 520HX.

zenmaster

Splendid
Feb 21, 2006
You can wait forever.
Whenever you buy, there will be something better in 3months.

That is the life of computers.