Best Video Card companion for my BFG 680i

bfg72

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2007
Hey guys,

I am almost complete on my new system build.
I had a pretty good plan right from the start, but I am still unsure on the video card.
And have changed my mind several times.

OK here is my current spec:
BFG Tech nForce 680i SLi Mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz
Zalman 7000 CPU Cooler
Corsair Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC2-8500
2 x WD Raptor HDD 150GB (RAID 1) (Boot drive)
2 x WD Caviar HDD 500GB (RAID 1) (Data drive)
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 750Watt PSU

Creative X-Fi Pro (to be ordered)
NO VIDEO CARD (to be ordered)
2x LCD 24" Displays (to be ordered)

Note: this will be a DUAL monitor system, I am a programmer and really need both desktops when working.
Of cause this will obviously be limted to 1 display when gaming, but I also need to drive 2 displays.
Just a thought when considering any help you guys have to offer

Now I going with an 8 series nVidia, no question about it.

Lets get the main question out of the way first, will a BFG card be best suited for my BFG motherboard,
or does is it really not matter??

Firstly I am thinking BFG, as it would be a good companion, the warrenty is good, and I can get
one 'over-clocked' right out of the box.

As for my other train of thought (assuming a $500 budget), I was going to go with 2x BFG 8600GTS in SLi mode.
(note: the BFG 8600 only take 1 PCI slot)
But recently thought I would be MUCH better off with an 8800 card.

This causes one problem, that the 8800 cards take 2 slots, hence I will lose one PCI slot (if I get 2x 8800 SLi).
Now we all know on-board audio suck, so the Creative X-Fi will take the remaining slot.
Removing any possibility for future upgrade (such as internal wireless card)

I am happy to get 1x 8800GTS (640MB) instead of going down the dual card SLi road, so my above statement might not even really be relevant.
Which I think is what I may do, unless you guys have better views on the subject.