CPU dead? New computer power up was tonight: no bios initialisation

ocoileain1890

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2007
Hi Guys,

It's my first time building a PC, I'm a complete newbie and have enjoyed it immensely as a learning experience thus far. Having taken everything extremely slow and being ridiculously cautious I'd worked on the machine a bit every evening after work over the past month and the big turn on was tonight! : Heres the components I have in my Antec P160 case at the moment.

1. Mobo = ABIT IN9 32X-MAX WiFi, nForce-680i SLI, Socket-775,ATX,2xGbLAN,DDR2,2xPCI-Ex16
2. Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz Socket LGA775
3. PSU: Enermax galaxy 1000 kw
4. Sound card: Creative X-fi extreme
5. Graphics: BFG OC 8800 gtx
6.Memory: Crucial ballistix ddr2 6400 x2 gig

After breathing a sigh of relief when it didnt blow up in my face having hit the on switch , all my fans running beautifully (Graphics card, cpu + two additional 120mm ones installed rear and front), I noticed no Bios initialisation on my connected monitor. The monitor would power up for a few secs then go into standby mode, a black screen greeting me in both states. I applied the supplied dvi-crt adapters that came with the card, I tested another old 19" crt but to no avail. Its kind of heart-breaking as I type this bleary eyed but is my Bios not coming up because my CPU is dead and failing to communicate with the mobo? The motherboard is grand, all the relevant lights flashing etc. but i think I must have fried the CPU.

Any suggestions as to what the problem might be are be greatly appreciated guys!

Kind regards,
OcO.

Mondoman

Splendid
Do you have a case speaker connected to the 2 speaker pins on the MB? This is different from audio in/out - the case speaker handles the BIOS turn-on beeps and any warning beeps/sounds.