Biostar motherboards = bad overclockers?

ashblk

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2007
I have a situation at hand, I currently have the following system and I wanted a little more speed and a little better video card ( I have onboard video).

Tforce 6100 AM2
3800 X2 (90)
2 gig ddr800
320 gig sata hard drive 16mb
dvd burner

At first I wanted to get a little video card, even though I don't game much, I just wanted something just to learn about since I've never used a dedicated video card before.

But people are saying my motherboard is trash and I should change that. I wanted to upgrade the processer and get something that runs at the lowest 3.0.

So what should I do?

1. Dump the motherboard and processor and go intel.
2. Dump the motherboard and get a better one and overclock the 3800
3. Upgrade the processor since I don't game and save for a little htpc card

Which makes more sense?

I would first set a budget and decide what games you want to try. Are you using vista or planning on switching? If so, you'll want a directx10 card. They start at about $50 for the ati 2400 or nvidia 8400 series. No point in changing boards or cpus if your system works well for what you do. I'm still using socket 939, as I mostly just surf the net.

aBg_rOnGak

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
Well, IMO, compared to Asus or DFI, that board may be kind of 'underpowered', but it still 'sting' compared to ECS or non-TF Biostars. I would certainly buy a video card if it's my decision to make. you can still OC a bit with that board, but don't too much for a start, unless you are ready to buy much better aftermarket cooler

lghtmup98

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2007