How to setup a Network Server for Computers in a Small School

Tags:
  • Computers
  • Servers
  • Networking
Last response: in Networking
July 6, 2008 10:19:31 AM

Hi all,

My Uncle just opened a small school in our area (100 students only). He INSISTED that I should work for him as an IT Head Guy. I'm a hardware kind of guy (OCing, Installing from scratch, repair and troubleshooting etc.) Ok, I'll be honest ... I'm not a Network Guru, but I know the basics.
I've setup a basic home Network just using a router and a switch/hub using Auto DHCP/Static - 14 Computers to be exact and It was easy.

*Warning*

I'm new at this so please bear with me. This is where I need your help
I also took the job because I want to learn how to do this. If I have to read dozens of books or web links, I'll do it.

Now, here is the school setup:

My Uncle just purchased 45 new bare computers for the Students and Teachers. I've finished assembling all 45 computers two days ago (Whew, at last .. it took me (alone) 3 days). Now I've already installed Windows XP Pro on 40 and all are running ok. I left 5 of these computers to be blank (no OS) at the moment for your instructions.

There are 2 computers labs (one for Elementary, one for High School)

Here is the breakdown:

15 Computers will be for High School Students
15 Computers will be for Elementary
10 Computers are for Faculty
the other 5 could be the server or anything else ..

The web and email servers are already outsourced by a different company.
My focus should be on
- File Sharing
- Networking
- Internet Sharing
- Parental Control (for student PCs)
- Restrictions
- Active Directory(???)
- Security - one of the main concerns / What is the best firewall/anti-virus should I deploy
- Domain/Client setup
- other things that I should know
- What router/switch/hub to buy

As I understand, I need a server computer. Since it is not a web server, I could turn it off at the end of the day.