Todrianth

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2008
Hi !

I have a question about HDD speeds, becowse it seems the speeds in real life aren't like the ones in the HDD specs. (correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new at this :) )

I have a WD Raptor 150 GB and when I bought it I looked at it's specs and it sed to work at 1,5 Gp/s ( http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=189 )
Then I begun testing my HDD. I took the HD Tune Benchmark program and begun testing my HDD.

HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD1500ADFD-00N.png

After that I copyed a 700 MB video file from my WD 200GB S-ATA (i use it for storege) to my Raptor and windows estimated about 10 secs. That would make about 70 MB/s speed , so I figured the benchmark is pretty acurate.

So if the speed is aprox 70 MB/s that's about 560 Mb/s (multiplied with 8) , is not as near as 1,5 GB. So the conclusion: are the HDD producers are just making this for the advertising, and therefore lying about hdd speeds or I'm mistakeing in someplace?

P.S. I want to know there are any HDD's that work at 1,0 Gb/s at least becowse I needed it for making a 10/100/1000 LAN network for fast sharing, but what for if the HDD is much slower.I read in newspaper that the british (if i recall corectly) are wanting to raise the speeds of internet to 2 Gbps, so I wonder what kind of HDD will I need then?

Sorry for my english mistakes, not so good at that either :D

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
What you found is normal. The 1.5 Gb/s spec is the MAXIMUM data transfer rate for a short burst. But for real sustained average transfer rates, you will get much lower. Whether 70 MB/s (560 Mb/s) is exactly right I can't say for sure, but I do know it will not come close to 1.5 Gb/s for average sustained transfer rate.

This is why some people say the difference between SATA at SATA II is meaningless when it comes to speed.

Todrianth

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2008
Thanks for your help. Now the things are becoming more clear.